I am not that person who works out at the gym 6 days a week, nor do I wish too. At least not right now anyway. So to have rest days…feels like going back. I feel like I shouldn’t have them, and this guilt comes over me. They are very important into rebuilding and recovering, but lately I have had injuries and sickness that has caused my working out time to be cut in half. Which now has led me to have that feeling of no motivation. You know what I am talking about. That moment when you spend too many days off and suddenly going back gives you that old dread you felt before going to gym class. The “Oh man, do I really want to do this?”. The one thing you have to remember (that I forget all the time by the way) is that once you go and start again. You feel so much better. Not only better about yourself, but physically too. You are back! If you find that you really have a hard time getting mentally there. Do this trick that you may of heard of. Put on your workout clothes. Once you are in them…you find that your are more motivated to work out.

So the reason for the post was to express that rest days are tough. They can make one slid right back into that slop of non-movement and to I assure you, you are not alone in this. Tell yourself it is ok and that you just have to get back into it. You have to get yourself there and you will return happily. Even when you can not see it right away. Today I plan to do a run. I don’t know where, or how, but I do. I would do CrossFit but my box has its last class at 3pm. I work till 4 :-/

So here is my question for you. How do you deal with rest days and what do you do to help you get past that guilt, that funk and back into what makes you happy.

